Theatrical / Play formats.

Tell us about anything you think would make YouMeScript better.
admin
Site Admin

Theatrical / Play formats.

Post by admin »

Title says it all... but any comments and requests welcome.
BlueCricket

Re: Theatrical / Play formats.

Post by BlueCricket »

I'm new to the product and site. Are there any plans for a playwright format option? Most of what I want is there, but I want to be able to do the Setting and AT RISE for the first page of the Act. Also I was wondering if I can get a page after the Title and prior Act I for Cast, Scene and Time as well. In short, a stage play mode would be awesome.
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

BC, thanks for trying YMS, and yep, I'd definitely like to do a Play format (though you're actually only the second person who's asked for it). It won't happen immediately, but hopefully soonish...

You might be able to speed things along a bit, if you knew of a link to a correctly (in your mind) formatted play, either a PDF or HTML page. If it had all the possible extra elements that are found in plays but not screenplays, that'd obviously be ideal.
BlueCricket

Post by BlueCricket »

You mean to share with you? This pdf has a lot of what I had in mind.

http://ptfaculty.gordonstate.edu/lking/ ... tting2.pdf

Page 8 is the title page. I think you have that pretty much done.
Page 9 is the cast, the scene, and time. I think that's the main difference.
Page 10 is what I also find a little difficult to do in screen play format, the setting and AT RISE (the opening.)

There's little differences like the page numbers (i.e. I 1-1) Act Scene Page#

If you read the rest I think you'd see that you have pretty much everything else down. Maybe you would shave away the slug/pan/camera stuff. I'm wondering what else the community would have in mind. I'm also curious if there's anyone out there who's written a play with this program. Maybe this idea is another app entirely. Anyway this is a beautiful app. Good job.
admin